Minister's Award for Urban Design 2018 banner

The Minister's Award for Urban Design recognises contemporary Queensland urban design projects of the highest quality and encourages cities, towns and communities across Queensland to strive for best practice in all projects. It highlights the critical role of good urban design in shaping Queensland and how collaborative relationships can lead to the successful development of the built environment.

The award is conducted in partnership with the Australian Urban Design Awards, the nation's premier awards for excellence and innovation in urban design.

Queensland Government Architect Malcolm Middleton is chair of the judging panel which includes experienced design professionals from industry, local and state government, and the Queensland Urban Design and Places Panel.

Entries for the Minister’s Award for Urban Design 2018 have now closed. The winner of the award and commended entries will be announced on Friday 16 March 2018.


Loading table...
Name Location Team Image
Bee Gees Way Redcliffe Moreton Bay Regional Council

Bee Gees Way
Image supplied by Moreton Bay Regional Council

Big Plans for Small Creeks Ipswich Landscapology and Bligh Tanner

Big Plans for Small Creeks
Image supplied by Stephanie Brown

Fish Lane, South Brisbane South Brisbane Aria Property Group and Brisbane City Council

Fish Lane
Image supplied by Peter Sexty

Green Space Strategy West End, Highgate Hill and South Brisbane John Mongard Landscape Architects

Green Space Strategy
Image supplied by John Mongard Landscape Architects

Munro Martin Parklands Cairns CA Architects and Andrew Prowse Landscape Architect

Munro Martin Parklands
Image supplied by Colyn Huber

New World City Design Guide: Buildings that Breathe Brisbane Brisbane City Council in collaboration with Urbis and Arkhefield

New World City Design Guide
Image supplied by Peter Rudledge

Parklands Gold Coast AAA - A Joint Venture (Arkhefield + ARM + Archipelago)

Image supplied by John Gollings

Riverside Centre Revitalisation Brisbane CBD 360 Degrees Landscape Architects

Riverside Centre Revitalisation
Image supplied by John Gollings

Rockhampton Riverside and CBD Redevelopment Rockhampton Urbis Pty Ltd

Rockhampton Riverside and CBD Redevelopment
Image supplied by Rockhampton Regional Council

Ruby & Sapphire Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast DBI Design Pty Ltd

Ruby & Sapphire
Image supplied by DBI Design

Smart Seeds   GHD

Smart Seeds
Image supplied by Team Last Mile

Smithfield Street Gympie Gympie Place Design Group with Gympie Regional Council

Smithfield Street Gympie
Image supplied by Place Design Group

St Lucia Campus Master Plan St Lucia, Brisbane Urbis Pty Ltd

St Lucia Campus Master Plan
Image supplied by Urbis

Surf Parade Place Making Project Broadbeach, Gold Coast City of Gold Coast

Surf Parade Place Making Project
Image supplied by Remco Photography

The Link at Coronation Drive Office Park Milton, Brisbane Lat27

The Link at Coronation Drive Office Park
Image supplied by Lat27

The Mill at Moreton Bay PDA Development Scheme Moreton Bay Moreton Bay Regional Council

The Mill at Moreton Bay
Image supplied by ML Design

Treehouse Early Learning Centre Woolloongabba, Brisbane Magellan Space

Treehouse Early Learning Centre
Image supplied by Magellan Space

V2i Realtime   V2i Group

V2i Realtime
Image supplied by V2i Group

Vibrant Towns of the Scenic Rim Scenic Rim Region John Mongard Landscape Architects

Vibrant Towns of the Scenic Rim
Image supplied by John Mongard Landscape Architects

Jury Members

Malcolm Middleton (chair) – Queensland Government Architect
Malcolm is an urban designer and architect who brings a wealth of experience to the role of Queensland Government Architect, having been involved in the industry for more than 35 years. He has practical experience in the areas of architecture, master planning and urban design and had extensive experience in the integration of landscape design principles into project solutions.

Dy Curry - Chief Planner, City Planning and Economic Development, Brisbane City Council
Dy is the inaugural Chief Planner for Brisbane City and President of the Commonwealth Association of Planners representing more than 40 000 planners around the world. Dy is a highly experienced planning executive with national and international experience in planning and economic development. She was an expert panel member for the United Nations Habitat3 process and a past National President of the Planning Institute of Australia.

Tim O’Neill - Executive Director - SEQ Developments, Economic Development Queensland
Tim is responsible for developing and implementing Economic Development and Investment Strategy for several multi-million dollar and complex urban renewal mixed-use projects. Tim has over 15 years’ experience working with Lend Lease as project manager, senior project manager and as the Regional General Manager of Bovis Lend Lease in Queensland and has held positions on several property industry bodies including President of the Property Council of Australia in Queensland, and National Director.

Paula Grant - Manager Strategic Planning and Economic Development, Toowoomba Regional Council
Paula is a registered planner and fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia. Paula has worked at executive levels in local government planning in Queensland over the last 25 years. Paula currently manages the Strategic Planning and Economic Development Branch at Toowoomba Regional Council. She is also Senior Lecturer in urban and regional planning at the University of Southern Qld and is undertaking a PhD at the University of Qld.

Leah Lang - Gold Coast City Architect and Queensland Urban Design and Places Panel (QUDaPP) Member
Leah is the Gold Coast City Architect, having worked in the industry for more than 20 years in award winning practices in the UK, Brisbane and the Gold Coast. She has experience in small lot housing, multi residential, healthcare, policy writing and development assessment.

Tony Holzberger - Principal Architect, Customer Engagement and Planning Services Group, Sunshine Coast Council
Tony has over 20 years’ experience delivering public buildings throughout Queensland. From small schools and police stations to major hospital projects, Tony has a passion for delivering functional and responsive spaces that enhance the lives of all those that occupy the space. Tony has held a number of positions in the public and private sector and in 2014, joined the Sunshine Coast Council as the Principal Architect where he provides advise and advocacy for sustainable and regionally specific Urban Design.

Toby Lodge - City Planner, Principal at Hassell and QUDaPP member
Toby has been leading collaborative teams at Hassell for twenty years in the fields of urban renewal, transit orientated development and urban infill growth management. He has developed city shape frameworks for cities, key precincts and transport corridors around Australia and delivered major master plans in South East Asia and the United Kingdom. He is committed to a holistic, vision led approach to city design and received national and international recognition, including the Australia Award for Urban Design in 2015.

View the results of the Deputy Premier’s Award for Urban Design 2017.